National Diversity Awards for 2015 Nominees Announced

Nominees for 2015’s National Diversity Awards has been announced.

For this year’s event, National Diversity Awards (NDA) received more than 20,000 nominations as well as votes.

The awarding ceremony will take place on September 18 at The Anglican Cathedral in Liverpool.

The NDA awards, which was first held in 2012 as a result of the initiative of its founder Paul Sesay, will honour individuals, community organisations and charities for their inspiring work to promote diversity. The awards is divided into five categories: Disability, Age, Gender, Race, LGBT as well as Faith and Religion.

This year’s event is going to be supported by various sponsors, including Microsoft and Barclays. The event will also be attended by celebrities like Adam Hills and Brian Blessed. The awards will be judged by known diversity figures in UK.

The individual nominees for 2015’s are:

  • Age: Jake Watts, Bilal Awan, and Elly Barnes; Rebecca Parkin, Adnan Davod, and Tunji Akintokun; and Louise Liddle-McGhee and Nadia Clarke.
  • Disability: Simon Green, Oliver Hellowell, and Suzie Jones; Monique Craine, Sam Cleasby, and Nicola Miles-Wildin;and Christopher Malpass and Jonathan Andrews.
  • Gender: Cindy Edwards, Polly Harrar, and Sonia Bate; Debra Searle MBE, Shane Ryan, and Natasha Goldthorpe ; and Funke Abimbola and Placida Acheru.
  • LGBT: Sanjay Sood-Smith, Gary Zetter, and Jude Woods; Jake Graf, Kathy Caton, and Megan Key; and Samantha Truelove and Phil Forder.
  • Race, Faith Religion: Nathaniel Peat, Vicky Beeching, and Myira Khan; Mike Chappell, Phillip Leong, and Fred Suadwa;and Indy Hothi and Naheed Nazir.

Nominees under the community and charity categories are:

  • Community Organisation Age: Crosshill School, Active Impact, and Include Me Too; Young Identity, North City Play, and ACE Aspiration Creation Elevation; and Tyler's Trust and Diversity Role Models
  • Community Organisation Disability: Focus Liverpool, AnnaKennedyOnline, and Havering Dementia Action; Alliance, FND Hope, and Disability Rocks; and ChAPS, CASPA, and St Andrews Healthcare.
  • Community Organisation Gender: JAN Trust, Aurora New Dawn, and Saheli; Ladies Fighting Breast Cancer, Asian Women Mean Business, and Nyasa Daughters of Nottingham; and Cervical Cancer Support Group and Muslim Women's Network UK.
  • Community Organisation LGBT: Trans Men Support & Advice UK, No Going Back, and Planet London; Manchester Lesbian & Gay Chorus, Foyle Pride, and Mermaids; and Broken Rainbow and Out & Proud Diamond Group.
  • Community Organisation Race, Faith, Religion: Nubian Jak, Hikmat Devon, and 3FF Three Faiths Forum; Polish Expats, Merseyside Network for Change, and ArtsEkta; andUjima Radio and UK Lesbian & Gay Immigration Group.
  • Community Organisation Multi Strand: Liverpool Homeless FC, Result CIC, and SELF; Buddy Buddy Scheme, Darlington Independent Advisory Group, and BollyGOOD; and Leeds Beckett Student Union andBCfm Radio.
  • Entrepreneur of Excellence: Luke Rodgers, Lina Naima, and Craig Grimes; Amar Latif, Byron Cole and Stephanie Wright; and Justin Edgar and Mavis Amankwah.
  • Diverse Company: Calico, Staffordshire & West Midlands CRC, and Steve Biko Housing Association; Royal Navy, British Transport Police, West Midlands Police, and Office for National Statistics; and Circle Housing, Contracts IT, and Victim Support.

The nominees for the Lifetime Achiever award are: Liz Kelly, Dr Nasser Siabi OBE, and Dr Neville Brown; Jenny Sealey MBE, Marion Aslan, and Caron Drucker; and Sally Carr and Carol Steele.

Brian Dowling, who will host this year’s event, told The Voice that he is proud of being invited again to the awards ceremony. Dowling said: "I have witnessed the awards go from strength to strength since its formation and I am always truly taken back by the humbling and uplifting stories of all the nominees and award winners. I can’t wait to get on stage for what is sure to be another extraordinary evening!”


Leave Comment

Comments for article #483

Go Back to Previous Page