8 Awardees of First Race Equality Charter Announced

Winners of the initial Race Equality Charter has been announced by the Equality Challenge Unit (ECU) last August 13.

Eight universities out of 21 institutions of higher education that participated in the pilot awards were conferred awards at bronze level.

ECU is a charity funded by UK higher education funding bodies and representative organisations. The charity aims to further and support staff and student equality and diversity in higher educational institutions in the UK and Scotland.

ECU’s Race Equality Charter was launched in order to promote “strategic approach to making cultural and systemic changes that will make a real difference to minority ethnic staff and students.” The initiative was launched in acknowledgement of the continuing inequality that has persisted in higher education institutions in UK.

Data released in 2014 by the Higher Education Statistics Agency’s (HESA) indicates black and ethnic minorities (particularly Asians) were not properly represented in 24 of UK’s top universities, with black and Asian students only making up 2.6% and 9.7% of the student population. HESA also said black and ethnic minority only compose 6% of the top universities’ staff.

The eight winning universities are: Royal Holloway, University of London, University College London (incorporating the UCL Institute of Education), University of Manchester, University of Hertfordshire, Staffordshire University, Kingston University, King’s College London and De Montfort University.

An awards ceremony will be held later this 2015 to congratulate the participants and awardees.

ECU’s Head of Equality ChartersSarah Dickinson expressed delight at the positive outcome of Race Equality Charter’s pilot.

Dickinson said: "It was a privilege to work alongside so many institutions during the pilot year of our Race Equality Charter. It’s an incredibly exciting initiative and it has been fascinating to see how universities have interacted with it over the course of the trial.”


Go Back to Previous Page